Thursday, September 20, 2012

4 Disgraced Republican Senators

The Veterans Jobs Corps Bill was defeated in the senate 58-40.  58 senators voted for it, why didn't it pass?  Republican filibuster, by filibustering the bill a 60 vote majority is required to pass the bill.  The republicans have filibustered almost every bill in the senate for the last two years, in order to make sure President Obama is a one term president.

National unemployment is at 8.1%, veterans face a 10.9% unemployment rate, thats 220,000 military veterans out of a job.   A very small segment of the American population answered the call to serve our country in the nations two longest wars- Iraq and Afghanistan.  Veterans have paid a terrible toll, and still suffer with a crushing suicide rate.  The Veterans Jobs Corp Bill would have extended the veterans a well deserved hand up, unfortunately, the needs of America's veterans are not as important as the republican political aspiration of making President Obama a one term president.  The least you can say about these republican senators is they are not patriots. 

Left to Right; Senator Richard Burr (R-NC),  Pat Toomey (R-Pa), Mike Johannns (R-Neb), Senator John Boozeman (R-Ark), These four republican senators authored parts of the Veterans Jobs Corp bill but voted against it.  Both Senator Boozeman and Pat Toomey voted yes to authorize the use of force in Iraq. 

Senator Patty Murray:
“It’s both shocking and shameful that Republicans today chose to kill a bill to put America’s veterans back to work. At a time when one in four young veterans are unemployed, Republicans should have been able, for just this once, to put aside the politics of obstruction and to help these men and women provide for their families.
 “But this vote is stark reminder that Senator McConnell and Senate Republicans are willing to do absolutely anything to fulfill the pledge he made nearly two years ago to defeat President Obama. It doesn’t matter who gets in their way or which Americans they have to sacrifice in that pursuit, even if it’s our nation’s veterans. 
Here is the full list of the 40 republican senators who voted against our veterans, 
Alexander (R-TN)
Ayotte (R-NH)
Barrasso (R-WY)
Blunt (R-MO)
Boozman (R-AR)
Burr (R-NC)
Chambliss (R-GA)
Coats (R-IN)
Coburn (R-OK)
Cochran (R-MS)
Corker (R-TN)
Cornyn (R-TX)
Crapo (R-ID)
DeMint (R-SC)
Enzi (R-WY)
Graham (R-SC)
Grassley (R-IA)
Hatch (R-UT)
Hoeven (R-ND)
Hutchison (R-TX)
Isakson (R-GA)
Johanns (R-NE)
Johnson (R-WI)
Kyl (R-AZ)
Lee (R-UT)
Lugar (R-IN)
McCain (R-AZ)
McConnell (R-KY)
Moran (R-KS)
Paul (R-KY)
Portman (R-OH)
Risch (R-ID)
Roberts (R-KS)
Rubio (R-FL)
Sessions (R-AL)
Shelby (R-AL)
Thune (R-SD)
Toomey (R-PA)
Vitter (R-LA)
Wicker (R-MS)

Mark Kirk and James Inhofe did not vote.
List of Republican Senators via Politics USA
Enhanced by Zemanta

No comments:

Post a Comment